Sheffield Basketball

MVP award winners announced

The votes have been counted and we are pleased to announce the MVPs for the 2016/17 season.

Division 1: Joseph Baugh (Team Nook 1)

In an incredibly tight race Joseph held off teammate Napthali Nembhard to win the Division 1 MVP crown for the third straight season. He averaged 23.10 points per game and was particularly effective in the difficult games, scoring 36 and 30 in Nook's two wins against second placed Loxley.

There were occassions when Baugh was happy to take a back seat in the scoring stakes, but he still managed double-digit points in every game he played as Nook claimed their fourth consecutive title.


Division 2: Kyle Styan (Darfield)

There was a clear winner of the Division 2 MVP crown in Kyle Styan from division winners Darfield. He averaged 13.82 points per game and was pivotal in all areas of the court as Darfield's opponents picked him as their best player on eight occassions.

His highest points tallies on the season were 21 against Team Nook 2 in the game that clinched the title and 20 in an all-important win against Titans 2 that helped them have the head-to-head tie-breaker over the team that finished second.


Division 3: Zihao Chen (Sheffield Chinese 1)

It was another incredibly tight race in Division 3 with the MVP award eventually going to Zihao Chen of Sheffield Chinese 1 despite his team finishing with a 4-8 record on the season.

Chen led the division in scoring at 19.75 points per contest and also sank 3.23 triples per game. He played in all 12 games for Chinese 1 and was picked as the best player on eight occassions.


Division 4: Kane Sanders-Bailey (Retford Rampage)

In another extremely close battle the Division 4 MVP award went to Kane Sanders-Bailey of Retford Rampage.

Kane started the season with a 35 point game and ended it with a 41 point effort as he failed to top 20 points only once on his way to averaging 25.25 points per game.


Congratulations to all of the winners.

In previous seasons teams have requested to know their own top vote getter, so this season here is the official list -


Team Leading Candidate
Barnsley Barbarians Aivaras Vosylius
Chesterfield Adam Winfield
Chesterfield Flight G Simmons
Darfield Kyle Styan
Ecclesall Hunters Matthew Tibbs
Elev8 Sheffield Suns Josh Wilson
G-Corp Andre Rankine
Hillsborough Pete Hopkinson
Loxley Jordan Santiago
NuOla Sheffield Saxons Daniel Shedd
Pitsmoor Pirates Hamza Ibrahim
Retford Rampage Kane Sanders-Bailey
Rotherham Hawks Tim Cook
Rotherham Rams David Huston
Sheffield Chinese 1 Zihao Chen
Sheffield Chinese 2 Shuyang Xu
Sheffield Medics M Howe
Sheffield Starz 1 Hamud Ibrahim
Sheffield Starz 2 Eamonn Barber
Sheffield Storm 1 Ewan King
Sheffield Storm 2 Lukas Armalis
Team Nook 1 Joseph Baugh
Team Nook 2 P Milak
Titans 1 Wes Skaines & Arturas Padriezas
Titans 2 Arturas Padriezas
Titans 3 Arturas Padriezas
USB Spartans Syafia Nazim
Wickersley Vikings Paul Lockwood
Worksop Christopher Hall & Luke Richardson